VIDYA BHAWAN BALIKA VIDYAPITH SHAKTI UTTHAN ASHRAM LAKHISARAI

Class:Xth SUBJECT: POLITICAL SCIENCE DATE 25.1.2022.

Ch:POLITICAL SCIENCE (NOTES)

Read the following passage throughly and try to understand.

## **Major National Parties in India**

There were 7 recognised national parties in the country in 2018. Here are the details of these parties:

### 1) All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)

- Launched on 1 January 1998 under the leadership of Mamata Banerjee.
- Recognised as a national party in 2016.
- The party's symbol is flowers and grass.
- Committed to secularism and federalism.
- Has been in power in West Bengal since 2011 and has a presence in Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Tripura.
- In the General Elections held in 2014, it got 3.84% votes and won 34 seats, making it the fourth-largest party in the Lok Sabha.

### 2) Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP):

- Formed in 1984 under the leadership of Kanshi Ram.
- Seeks to represent and secure power for the Bahujan samaj which includes the Dalits, Adivasis, OBCs and religious minorities.
- Stands for the cause of securing the interests and welfare of the Dalits and oppressed people.
- It has its main base in the state of Uttar Pradesh and substantial presence in neighbouring states like Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand, Delhi and Punjab.
- Formed government in UP several times by taking the support of different parties at different times.

# 3) Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

- Founded in 1980, formed by Syama Prasad Mukherjee in 1951.
- Wants to build a strong and modern India by drawing inspiration from India's ancient culture and values and Deendayal Upadhyaya's ideas of integral humanism and Antyodaya.

- Cultural nationalism (or 'Hindutva') is an important element in its conception of Indian nationhood and politics.
- Earlier limited to north and west and to urban areas, the party expanded its support in the south, east, the north-east and to rural areas.
- Emerged as the largest party with 282 members in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

### 4) Communist Party of India (CPI):

- Formed in 1925. Believes in Marxism-Leninism, secularism and democracy.
- Opposed to the forces of secessionism and communalism.
- Accepts parliamentary democracy as a means of promoting the interests of the working class, farmers and the poor.
- Significant presence in the states of Kerala, West Bengal, Punjab, Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu.
- It secured less than 1 per cent votes and 1 seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

### 5) Communist Party of India – Marxist (CPI-M):

- Founded in 1964. Believes in Marxism-Leninism. Supports socialism, secularism and democracy and opposes imperialism and communalism.
- Accepts democratic elections as a useful and helpful means for securing the objective of socio-economic justice in India.
- Enjoys strong support in West Bengal, Kerala and Tripura.
- The party was in power in West Bengal without a break for 34 years.
- In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, it won about 3% of votes and 9 seats.

### 6) Indian National Congress (INC):

- Popularly known as the Congress Party. One of the oldest parties of the world. Founded in 1885 and has experienced many splits.
- Under the leadership of Jawaharlal Nehru, the party sought to build a modern secular democratic republic in India.
- The ruling party at the centre till 1977 and then from 1980 to 1989.
  After 1989, its support declined, but it continues to be present throughout the country.

 The party's main idea is to promote secularism and welfare of weaker sections and minorities.

## 7) Nationalist Congress Party (NCP):

- Formed in 1999 following a split in the Congress party.
- Supports democracy, Gandhian secularism, equity, social justice and federalism.
- A major party in Maharashtra and has a significant presence in Meghalaya, Manipur and Assam.
- A coalition partner in the state of Maharashtra in alliance with the Congress. Since 2004, a member of the United Progressive Alliance.

#### **State Parties**

The Election Commission has classified some of the major parties of the country as "State parties". These are also referred to as regional parties. Some of these parties are:

- Biju Janata Dal
- Sikkim Democratic Front
- Mizo National Front
- Telangana Rashtra Samithi

SUBJECT TEACHER MUKESH KUMAR.